How Did The 7 Wonders Of The World Get Chosen?

There are so many places in the world that are just too breathtaking to exist. However, despite how beautiful these places are, only a few get recognized. A lot of people have always been fascinated by the 7 wonders of the world. Then again, a lot of people are also wondering how they get chosen. Here are a couple of things you might want to know

Why Only 7 Are Chosen

Many people are wondering why only seven are chosen. According to experts, the number 7 is considered to be a lucky number in Greece. That is because this particular number is believed to bring prosperity and symbolizes perfection. The first 7 wonders of the world consist of The Pyramids of Giza, Temple of Artemis, Lighthouse of Alexandria, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, The Colossus of Rhodes and the Statue of Zeus. 

Great Wall of China
How Did The 7 Wonders Of The World Get Chosen?

They are now referred to as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It is said that the first list was meant as a guidebook for travelers. Only the Great Pyramid of Giza has managed to survive and is still a part of the new wonders of the 21st century. 

How The 7 Wonders Of The World Were Chosen

The first list was actually chosen by travelers themselves. They first referred to it as the Sights of the World even if they were all located in the Mediterranean and the Middle East. However, at the beginning of the new millennium, a campaign was raised to choose the new places to be on the list. The campaign is known as the New7Wonders of the World was led by Bernard Weber. Out of 200 of the most popular monuments all over the world, only the seven will be chosen. 

For seven years, people all over the world voted through the internet and telephone. Over a hundred million votes were cast since it lasted for years. The winners were announced on the 7th of July 2007.

The new 7 Wonders of the World are located in different countries from different continents. The Great Wall of China, the Petra in Jordan, the Taj Mahal in India, and the Colesseum in Italy. Along with them are the Christ the Redeemer in Brazil, Chichen Itza in Mexico, and lastly Machu Picchu in Peru. All of them are known to be considered as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Jesus the Deliverer statue
How Did The 7 Wonders Of The World Get Chosen?

There were, of course, some people who felt unhappy about the final results. However, the people of the world chose these places hence the voting system was made. Some people think that there should have been one from each continent. There are also some who think that it should have been based on religions and cultures. 


Regardless of what they might think, the winners truly deserve their spot because of how extraordinary they are. Although there are still tons of places that must get acknowledged, it does not mean that those places are not good enough. There are even different versions of this list where the Stonehenge of England was included as well as the Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter